This is an example of a HTML caption with a link.

2014 – The Season That Was

During the 2014 season the Britcar championship visited the famous Spa circuit in Belgium

During the 2014 season the Britcar championship visited the famous Spa circuit in Belgium

As you all may well know, the season has been won and run, and we would like to congratulate all our overall & class winners. After 21 Hours of racing all over England and in Europe it came down to the last race to decide the title. With Calum Lockie being hunted down and passed by Javier Morcillo in the dying minutes in the final race, Morcillo had passed Lockie for the lead but it was not enough, the FF Corse ran Ferrari 458 clinching the title in the final race. With the season being a to and fro affair and only the best 12 races being counted towards the final results no one could have predicted that it would come down to a solitary point.


1st O/R FF Corse Calum Lockie & David Mason 602 pts
2nd O/R Neil Garner Motorsport Javier Morcillo & Manuel Cintrano 601 pts
3rd O/R Newbridge Motorsport Guillaume Gruchet 535 pts

CLASS 3 – Winners: Intersport Racing – Anna Walewska & Kevin Clarke

Anna Walewska & Kevin Clarke from Intersport took out the honours with a measured drive all season, despite a tough end to the season with the BMW V8 GT4 making a trip to the gravel in the final race of the season the team were able to overcome their issues and take class honours.

CLASS 2 – Winners: FF Corse – David Mason & Calum Lockie The FF Corse crew as the outright winners they have also taken out class 2 honours in their Ferrari 458 Cup vehicle. Throughout the year consistently inside the top 10 and finishing no lower than 6th outright has made them unbeatable in class 2, and has also assisted them in winning the outright championship. Consistency is what it takes to win championships and the FF Corse crew proved just that. With outright honours and class honours there is plenty of silverware sitting on the FF Corse shelves.

CLASS 1 – Winners: Neil Garner Motorsport – Javier Morcillo & Manuel Cintrano The fast Spaniards were never out of contention all year, losing the outright championship by one point they were still able to take the honours in class 1. Remaining virtually unbeaten throughout the season, results outside of the top 10  in Spa & Snetterton saw their championship title hopes slip out of their hands, even a strong showing in Donington wining the final 2 races, clinching pole and fastest laps saw them close  the gap by more than 20 points but it was sadly not enough. Outright victory may have eluded them but they took the class victory in convincing fashion.


1st O/R Moss Motorsport Mike Moss & Tom Howard 302 pts
2nd O/R Chris Hayes Racing Chris Hayes & Andy Thompson 295 pts
3rd O/R SG Racing Mark Cunningham & Peter Cunningham 287 pts

The sports and touring was one of the most hotly contested series of the year. Going into the last round there were 5 teams within 20 points that could snatch away the title at any given moment. It came down to consistency as Moss Motorsport took the honours in their BMW M3 GT4, after a sluggish start to the year at Silverstone they bounced back with a raft of consistent results  that placed them in good stead for Donington where they came out on top taking the win in Donington to seal the title. Chris Hayes Racing followed home in second, but couldn’t match the pace of the Moss team at Donington, but in doing so secured a solid second place in the championship in their Seat Supercopa. SG Racing finished out the podium places for the series. Having a tough run at Donington saw them finish 6th for the round, but it was enough to seal the 3rd step on the podium for the championship. Its been a season of ups and downs, and one that has been closely fought on the track, we would like to thank all competitors and crews for a entertaining season. All officials, marshals and staff. Thank you for your tireless hours, all the hard work you put into this sport so we can go and race, without you we would have nothing.

WHAT’S ON NEXT? That’s 2014 wrapped up, time to look forward and upward to 2015 and the next event, the DUNLOP 24 HOURS at SILVERSTONE. Click HERE to register your interest in competing in this great event!

See you all there! Twitter: @BritcarNews #areyouthere Youtube: BritcarTv Facebook: Britcar

Comments are closed.